Day 28: Queen Oluwatobi Adebiyi #MBBSJourney

“O my soul, bless God.
From head to toe, I’ll bless his only name!
O my soul, bless God, don’t forget a single blessing!” Psalm 103:1-2 (MSG)

So many thoughts came to my mind ‘What do you wanna write, you can’t write anything’. So I gave up writing. One fateful night I said to myself, “God has indeed been good to me.” So I picked up my book and pen and started writing.

Don’t know where to begin but just pardon whichever way I start.

Hmmmmmn………. My MB; BS Journey. Let’s begin.

I’m not like those kids who had it in mind to be a doctor. I had always wanted to be a Chartered Accountant but guess what; I went to science class all because of my good grades. I wrote JAMB and my score wasn’t good enough for medicine.
You know that feeling when people had high expectations and had to follow you to check your result only to see…

I was so demoralized which made me think of writing SAT, TOEFL just to get out. I finally had to put in for Diploma despite the stymie.
image

Fast forward to 200L, Anatomy, Physiology and Biochemistry welcomed me into this wonderful profession. God indeed showed himself especially in my physiology where I had it in mind to write a resit after submitting almost a blank paper.

300L was overwhelming. At some point, I wanted to give up. So many times, I cried. I remember spreading wrapper close to a drainage with friends to prepare for 300L professional exams. Mehn, I really did some crazy stuff oooh. Thank God it paid off.

400L, welcoming me to the clinical world. Just remembered how I looked forward to wearing my short sparkling white clinical coat and putting a stethoscope round my neck. It was so exciting. This was really a different ball game.

Whoop!!!! 500L, OMG, community health was quite boring at some point, having to sit for several hours on a spot, class discussions, presentations, project etc . Anyways, it wasn’t so bad afterall.

How will I just forget my Pakoto experience, the emotional Dr Ayankogbe. Staying with my classmates outside school was so much fun. My Psychiatry, Anaesthesia and Ophthalmology days cannot be forgotten.
image

Finally, the year I had always been looking forward to finally came. I was so happy to be in the YBC Class. It was so wonderful despite its difficulties. It was a very stressful year but it was worth it.

It easy but it was worth it (*sings*)

My MB;BS story wouldn’t be complete without my parents and siblings, my beautiful friends who have become my sisters, my lovely classmates, awesome lecturers, RCF and everyone who has contributed to my life one way or the other.

Indeed, we are ROYALS, a chosen generation. God has indeed been faithful to us.

Thank God for who I am presently and who I would become. Thank God for new discoveries. I’m really a work in progress.
Never compare yourself because you are unique.

God sees the best in his children.

Remember; trust GOD always because He has the best plan for you.

Never give up.

We’ve got no limitation except ourselves.
I would really miss us all. I wish us all God’s best in our respective fields and a beautiful and fulfilling life (*tears rolling down*)
Thank you Pero for giving me the opportunity to share my story. Keep up the good work.

Hasta que nos volvamos a ver

Nos vemos en la cima.

Subscribe to Perry’s Tots via mail so you don’t miss any post!

One thought on “Day 28: Queen Oluwatobi Adebiyi #MBBSJourney

Leave a Reply

